Storage disks are separated from the actual servers; while the server offers CPU, RAM, IP-address(es), Firewall rules etc. the disk is where the OS layer lives. You can attach a disk to another server, create templates from a disk, delete a disk (without deleting the server) and so on. While attaching disks to a server happens at the server’s settings, other actions can be performed at the Disks view of the Control Panel.
If you want to create a template that you can use to spin new instances, you can do so at the Disks view of the Control Panel. This is handy if you’ve used your own or UpCloud provided installation media (see: Using Your Own Installation Media or Using Your Own Server Image) or if you’ve set up a configuration that you’ll want to use later (eg. you’ve set up your perfect LAMP stack).
There are a couple things to note here: you can only create templates from a MaxIOPS disk and the server that the disk is attached to should be shut down.
Attaching, Detaching and Deleting disks
Attaching and detaching disks are done at the server’s settings. You can detach or delete a disk that is currently attached or attach a new or existing disk. If you detach a disk, it still remains in your Disks view in the Control Panel (and is also billed). Deleting a disk removes it completely from your account and the data is lost permanently.
Disk’s can also be deleted at the Disks view of the Control Panel. Always be careful when deleting disks.
Resizing a Disk
This is somewhat technical due to OS-level issues so we’ve written a separate article for this: Resizing Storage .