UpCloud offers several types of user accounts, so it is a good idea to understand the difference between these – even from just a security point of view.

When you signup to the service, you choose a username to UpCloud. This is your account username that you can use to sign in to the service and perform all actions inside the UpCloud Control Panel. With this username, you can also create servers and API users (as well as delete them).

If you wish to use the API, it is a good idea to use a separate API username. You can create this under “My Account” and “Usernames”. You can either add new usernames to the account or then change or delete the existing ones. When you create new usernames, you can also set their password and restrict access to them, if you wish.

Once you have deployed servers to UpCloud, the service will ask you on the last step of new server deployment, how you want the server root user password delivered. You can either choose no delivery and the password is ONLY shown to you once after the server has been deployed. Other ways to have the password delivered include e-mail or SMS. The e-mail will be sent to the admin contact e-mail and SMS will be delivered to the phone number you used at registration. Please keep in mind that UpCloud does not store your password and therefore has no way of retrieving them. Therefore, please handle them with sufficient care.